Biology Faculty and Staff

 


angellDiane Angell
angell@stolaf.edu
RNS 434
507-786-3101
animal ecology, animal behavior, conservation


Tory

Tory Borovsky
Academic Administrative Assistant
borovskt@stolaf.edu
RNS 360
507-786-3100


Lisa Bowers
bowers@stolaf.edu
RNS 384
507-786-3273
microbiology, molecular biology, synthetic biology, genetics


Dave BDavid Burton
Stockroom Technician
burton@stolaf.edu
RNS 323
507-786-3393


Eric ColeEric Cole
Vice Chair, Department of Biology
Grace A. Whittier Endowed Chair in Science
colee@stolaf.edu
RNS 228
507-786-3395
developmental biology, particularly pattern formation in ciliates
Eric Cole’s Webpage


Kevin CrispKevin Crisp
crisp@stolaf.edu
RNS 220
507-786-3981
neural circuits, neurohormones, neuro-physiology and behavior


jay demasJay Demas
demas@stolaf.edu
RNS 280
507-786-3620
visual neurophysiology, developmental neurobiology, circadian biology


Steve FreedbergSteve Freedberg
freedber@stolaf.edu
RNS 414
507-786-3102
evolutionary ecology, bioinformatics, population genetics


John GianniniJohn Giannini
giannini@stolaf.edu

RNS 214
507-786-3103
membrane transport associated with plants and fungi
John Giannini’s webpage


Ted JohnsonTed Johnson
johnsont@stolaf.edu
RNS 366
507-786-3392
tumor immunology, aging, medical microbiology, cancer biology


Kim Kandl
kandl@stolaf.edu
RNS 382
507-786-3978
molecular biology and genetics and cytoskeleton function in yeast


kermottHenry Kermott
Marie M. Meyer Distinguished Professor
hkermott@stolaf.edu
RNS 230
507-786-3398
animal behavior


Laura ListenbergerLaura Listenberger
listenbe@stolaf.edu
RNS 380
507-786-3804
cell biology, including metabolism and nutrient storage


Jean PorterfieldJean Porterfield
Chair, Department of Biology
porterfi@stolaf.edu
RNS 428
507-786-3850
using DNA sequences and other information to hypothesize relationships among vertebrate species (especially fish), and using these species trees to study other ecological and behavioral characteristics of the taxa


John SchadeJohn Schade
schade@stolaf.edu
RNS 416
507-786-3909
ecosystem ecology, biogeochemistry and food web dynamics


Kathleen Shea
Curator of Natural Lands
sheak@stolaf.edu
RNS 418
507-786-3396
plant evolutionary ecology, restoration and community ecology, conservation 


Mike Swift
swift@stolaf.edu
RNS 420
507-786-3886
aquatic biology


Charles Umbanhowar Jr.Charles Umbanhowar Jr.
ceumb@stolaf.edu
RNS 412
507-786-3397
disturbance ecology of prairies, plant-animal interactions, analysis of multivariate data


vanwylenDave Van Wylen
vanwylen@stolaf.edu
RNS 216
507-786-3979
cardiac physiology, neurobiology, and program/space design in science buildings


Anne WalterAnne Walter
The Paul and Mildred Hardy Distinguished Professor of Science
waltera@stolaf.edu
RNS 378
507-786-3961
biological membranes and their lipid components using fluorescence and other optical techniques


Kyle Whittinghill
whittink@stolaf.edu
RNS 432
507-786-3984
biogeochemistry, ecology