Faculty Writing Support


The CILA Faculty Writing program, modeled after the successful Boldt Writing Retreats, provides opportunities for St. Olaf faculty to focus on their scholarly writing: to develop a work-in-progress, revise a conference presentation for publication, incorporate feedback before submitting an article to a refereed journal, polish a grant application, or perhaps revisit and revise a rejected manuscript. The retreats, open to faculty from all disciplines and Faculties, provide structured writing time in a distraction-free atmosphere among supportive colleagues and with an expert facilitator.

The CILA Summer Writing Retreat is a week-long retreat in early June designed to help faculty transition to their summer writing projects. Participants meet every day in an off-campus house (currently Larson House) as a group for coaching, editing, inspiration and support, and then work individually on projects. Breakfast, lunch, and refreshments are included, as well as an opening and closing dinner. A few residential positions are available for those who may wish to stay overnight during the retreat. All participants receive a modest stipend. Opportunities for follow-up are also available through the program.

Comments from previous CILA Summer Writing Retreat participants:

  • I made significant progress on several writing projects. The retreat was definitely inspirational. It was also just nice to get to know some other faculty.”
  • “The long blocks of writing time and the conversation with other members of the group… benefited me the most. The writing time helped me accomplish a lot of tangible work.”
  • “I was particularly grateful for and helped by the setting: the house filled with others working in similar ways (on different projects); a place and time devoted to one thing, without distractions either self-imposed or otherwise.”

Participants in the 2013 Summer Writing Retreat, led by Diane LeBlanc (Director of Writing and Associate Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies):  Chris Brunelle (Classics), Ibtesam al-Atiyat (Sociology and Anthropology), Jason Ripley (Religion), Ashley Hodgson (Economics), Laura Listenberger (Biology/Chemistry), Kris MacPherson (Library, Asian Studies), Karen Cherewatuk (English), Katie Ziegler-Graham (Statistics), Henriet Hendriks (Political Science), Alberto Villate-Isaza (Spanish), and Trish Beckman (Religion).