Leadership Awards

2015-2016 Leadership Awards Program (recorded)

Awarded in April of 2016

Organizations of the Year:
International Student Organization
Oles Combating Poverty

Emerging Leaders:
Christine Menge
Emery Rankin Utevsky
Samantha Sierakowski

Gertrude Hilleboe Award:
Jean Porterfield, Associate Professor of Biology

Emerging Volunteer of the Year:
Sarah Guezmir (Reaching our Goals)

Established Volunteer of the Year:
Connor Phelan (SARN)

Volunteer Program of the Year:
The Homeless OutReach (THOR) Project

Volunteer Program Directors of the Year:
Caitlin Nelson, Suzie Hoops and Kali Gustafson
(Habitat for Humanity)

Minnesota Campus Compact Student Leadership Award:
Megan Jekot

Dave Hauck Award:
Paul Escher
Abbey Schnaith

Established Leaders:
William Seabrook
Lara Shefelbine
Eleanor Worley

Distinguished Senior:
Kelsey Henquinet


St. Olaf College recognizes outstanding leadership efforts by asking for nominees from the campus community and then inviting these nominees to complete the application process. A committee of faculty and staff has the challenging task of selection. The awards are presented at a dessert reception in the spring.

Established Leadership Award is for St. Olaf students graduating in 2016 or 2017.

The Established Leader Award is given to three juniors or seniors who have displayed a significant role in enhancing student life on campus.  These students have demonstrated a commitment to student activities and held leadership roles throughout their time on campus.

Emerging Leadership Award for St. Olaf students graduating in 2018 or 2019.

This award goes to three freshman or sophomore students who have displayed a significant role in enhancing student life.  These students have demonstrated a commitment to various student activities on campus and have achieved personal growth as leader.

Student Organization of the Year

The Student Organization of the Year Award is presented to a student organization that has demonstrated commitment to the mission of the organization and to St. Olaf College. This organization will have made an impact on campus life this year.  The award focuses on the organization’s management, active participation of membership, successful recruitment, inclusivity, quality of programming/events, and mission.  Any student organization that is registered by the SGA Student Organization Committee and in good standing (both financial and otherwise) may apply for this award.