Assessment Subcommittee

Working closely with the Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness (IR&E), the Assessment Subcommittee leads St. Olaf’s program of “mission-driven, meaning, and manageable” assessment of student learning.  It supports faculty and staff efforts to gather evidence about student learning and to use that evidence to guide decisions concerning curriculum and pedagogy.  In order to facilitate its work, the composition of the Subcommittee spans a variety of disciplines and special expertise, and includes adjunct members, as well as members of the Curriculum Committee.

2016-17 Membership

  • Kathryn Ziegler-Graham, Chair
  • Xun Pomponio
  • Beth Christensen (Music Librarian)
  • Joshua Lee (Residence Life)
  • Abigail Olson ’19, Student Representative
  • Steve McKelvey (Registrar, MSCS)
  • Laura Maki (Associate Director, IR&E)
  • Pa Thao (Associate, Institutional Research and Effectiveness, IR&E)
  • Carlo Veltri (Psychology)
  • Christopher Chapp (Political Science)
  • Scott Anderson (Music)
  • Mary Walczak (Chemistry)
  • Ryan Sheppard (Sociology/Anthropology)