Melvin George Faculty Recognition Awards Sample call for proposals (2022)

Note: the call for proposals will be released in early October.

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to share with you that the Melvin George Faculty Recognition Fund provides grants to faculty members "at all ranks who demonstrate superb teaching, sound scholarship, and commitment to the mission and religious nature of the college." Established by Vernon Heath to honor former college president Melvin George, this fund is dedicated to supporting professional development.

Last year we made the first of the awards to:

- Anthony Bateza, Associate Professor of Religion
- Louis Epstein, Associate Professor of Music
- Dana Gross, Professor of Psychology, and
- Dan Hofrenning, Professor of Political Science.

Going forward, two to three awards will be made annually. We invite you to self-nominate, or to nominate those individuals whose work and values clearly reflect the mission of St. Olaf College. Nominations and self-nominations are due by November 7, 2023.

Thank you, Marci