International and Off-Campus Studies COVID-19 Response

March 19, 2020 – U.S. Department of State issues updated Global Health Advisory “Level 4: Do Not Travel.”  Visit the U.S. Department of State’s website for details. 

“The Department of State advises U.S. citizens to avoid all international travel due to the global impact of COVID-19.  In countries where commercial departure options remain available, U.S. citizens who live in the United States should arrange for immediate return to the United States, unless they are prepared to remain abroad for an indefinite period.  U.S. citizens who live abroad should avoid all international travel.  Many countries are experiencing COVID-19 outbreaks and implementing travel restrictions and mandatory quarantines, closing borders, and prohibiting non-citizens from entry with little advance notice.  Airlines have cancelled many international flights and several cruise operators have suspended operations or cancelled trips.  If you choose to travel internationally, your travel plans may be severely disrupted, and you may be forced to remain outside of the United States for an indefinite timeframe.”

International and Off-Campus Studies issued COVID-19 Updates:

For St. Olaf institution-wide information about COVID-19, visit St. Olaf’s COVID-19 webpage

Other important COVID-19 Updates:

March 19, 2020 – U.S. Department of State issues updated Global Health Advisory “Level 4: Do Not Travel.”  Visit the U.S. Department of State’s website for details. 

Returning to the USA from an international destination?  Review the Department of Homeland Security announcement regarding return from certain European countries, China, and Iran.

  • Effective for flights taking off at 11:59 PM EDT on Friday, March 13th, Americans returning from all restricted countries (detailed in announcement) will now be required to travel through the following 13 airports:
    • Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts
    • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
    • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas
    • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan
    • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
    • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
    • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
    • Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), California
    • Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida
    • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
    • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
    • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
    • Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia
  • ***Additional information regarding return procedures, quarantine, etc. can be found in the announcement.

Information for U.S. Citizens Returning from or Transiting Through Europe (from the U.S. Department of State)

U.S. citizens will be permitted to return from the United KingdomIreland and the Schengen area. The Department of Homeland Security has issued instructions requiring U.S. passengers that are coming from (or transiting) the United Kingdom, Ireland and the Schengen area to travel through select airports where the U.S. Government has implemented enhanced screening procedures. See DHS website for further details.

For information on the March 11, 2020 Presidential Proclamation on travel from and transiting through Europe, see our Frequently Asked Questions here.

The Schengen area encompasses the following 26 European countries: AustriaBelgiumCzech RepublicDenmarkEstoniaFinlandFranceGermanyGreeceHungaryIcelandItalyLatviaLiechtensteinLithuaniaLuxembourgMaltaNetherlandsNorwayPolandPortugalSlovakiaSloveniaSpainSweden, and Switzerland.