Editing and publishing YuJa recordings

YuJa allows users to publish, share, move, and edit recordings, as well as obtain links to share or embed your recordings in Moodle or elsewhere on the Internet. Instructions below…select Step by Step for details on each procedure.

Edit a YuJa Recording

YuJa features a simple editor which is handy for quick clean-up work on a recording. The editor allows you to remove unwanted segments, clean up the beginning and end, or add additional material. It also provides a simple interface for editing captions. The edited version is saved as a separate recording, so you can always get back to the original version if desired.

Step by Step

 

  1. From stolaf.yuja.com, select Default Collection or where you previously saved your recording.
  2. Find the recording that you want to edit and select it. In the upper right hand corner of the chosen recording, select the Settings icon.
    Select the Settings icon.
  3. Select Details.
    Select Details.
  4. Select Edit Video. From here you can choose to edit the recording directly. You may also edit the Security and Accessibility settings.
    Select Edit Video.
  5. Visit the YuJa Help Center for specific instructions and tips on how to use the video editor.

 

Link or Embed a YuJa Recording

It’s easy to share a YuJa video with anyone, even individuals without YuJa accounts. A direct link is the web address of the recording, useful if you want to send a link by email. Using an embed code, you can add a YuJa recording to any web page (e.g. Moodle or WordPress pages). The embedded recording will play directly within the page.

Step by Step

 

  1. From stolaf.yuja.com, select Default Collection or where you previously saved your recording.
  2. Find the recording that you want to embed and select it. In the upper right hand corner of the chosen recording, select the Settings icon.
    Select the Settings icon.
  3. Select Details.
    Select Details.
  4. Select Links.
    Select Links.
  5. Embed this Video provides a link to directly embed your recording into Moodle. Direct Link provides a link that can be used as a hyperlink.

 

Publish a YuJa Recording

Publishing a YuJa recording means putting it in a place where the desired group of users can see it. Sometimes you might chose to have a recording published automatically when the recording is made. If you are recording a lecture for a particular course, for example, you may want it to be available to students in that course as soon as it is uploaded. You can even choose to have students in that class automatically notified when the recording becomes available. On other occasions you might want to delay the availability of the recording, or make it available to several groups.

Step by Step

 

  1. From stolaf.yuja.com, select Default Collection or where you previously stored your recording.
  2. Find the recording that you want to publish and select it. In the upper right hand corner of the chosen recording, select the Settings icon.
    Select the Settings icon.
  3. Select Publish.
    Select Publish.
  4. Select where you want to publish your recording. Choose Select.
    Select where you want to publish.

 

Share a YuJa Recording

Whereas publishing is used to make recordings available to groups of users, sharing enables any YuJa user to share recordings with specific other users. A shared recording appears in the user’s Media Library. This is different from sharing a link (discussed above) because the recording stays within the password-protected YuJa system. Students might, for example, want to make a recording which they share only with their instructor or others in a collaborative group.

Step by Step

 

  1. From stolaf.yuja.com, select Default Collection or where you previously saved your recording.
  2. Find the recording that you want to share and select it. In the upper right hand corner of the chosen recording, select the Settings icon.
    Select the Settings icon.
  3. Select Share.
    Select Share.
  4. Select who you want to share your recording with. Select Save.
    Select who to share the recording with.
  5. Your recording has been shared.

 

Move a YuJa Recording

Moving has two functions within YuJa. First, it is simply a method for organizing your YuJa recordings within your Media Library. Second, it is also possible for an administrator to move existing recordings into the collection of another user.

Step by Step

 

  1. From stolaf.yuja.com, select Default Collection or where you previously saved your recording.
  2. Find the recording that you want to move and select it. In the upper right hand corner of the chosen recording, select the Settings icon.
    Select the Settings icon.
  3. Select Move.
    Select Move.
  4. Select where you want to move your recording. Choose Select.
    Select where to move your recording.
  5. Your recording has been moved.

 

Limiting access to recordings

(need to complete this section)

Step by Step

asdf