Summer Fellows Program


Summer Fellows Program Summer 2020

Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Hong Kierkegaard Library will not be open this summer. In continuing the tradition of a scholarly community, are offering:

“The Poul Lübcke Memorial Lecture Series” in honor of our friend and scholar. If you are interested in participating please email Eileen Shimota ( and Gordon Marino ( to sign up for the series and Utech Seminar.  We look forward to connecting with the Kierkegaardian community!

All lectures are on Wednesday at 1 pm (central time). Abbreviated schedule below or for more detailed information click on  Summer lectures

June 10        Title: “Danish Lessons”     Speaker: Gordon Marino

June 17      Title: “Kierkegaard’s Vendepunkt: Reflections on Shame and  the Categories of Crisis.”     Speaker: Vanessa Rumble

June 24      Title: “Ethical Purposes of Silence”     Speaker: Sergia Hay

July 1          Title: “The Blotting Paper on a Heavenly Letter: Johannes Climacus on the Hegelian Paratext.”     Speaker: Troy Wellington Smith

July 15        Title: “Description as a Doing: Wittgenstein, Kierkegaard, and the Impossibility of Disinterested Depiction”    Speaker: Charlie Djordevic

July 22        Title: “Transforming Love”      Speaker: Deidre Green

July 29        Title: “Militant Liturgies: Practicing Christianity with Kierkegaard, Bonhoeffer, and Weil”     Speaker: J. Aaron Simmons


The Utech Seminar will be held on July 9th and July 10th (Thursday and Friday) at 1 pm central time

Title: “Kierkegaard: Writing a Life”
Over the course of two lectures Clare Carlisle will discuss the intimate connection between life and writing; Kierkegaard’s relationship to writing; and her own experience writing Kierkegaard’s life.

Speaker: Clare Carlisle is the author of four books on Kierkegaard: Kierkegaard’s Philosophy of Becoming (2005), Kierkegaard: A Guide for the Perplexed (2006), Kierkegaard’s Fear and Trembling (2010), and the new biography Philosopher of the Heart: The Restless Life of Søren Kierkegaard (2019). She is also the author of On Habit (2014) and Spinoza’s Religion (forthcoming in 2021); the editor of Spinoza’s Ethics, translated by George Eliot (2020); and the translator of Félix Ravaisson’s De l’habitude (2008). She has written dozens of articles on philosophy for the Guardian, and is a regular contributor to the TLS. Clare Carlisle grew up in Manchester, studied philosophy and theology at TrinityCollege, Cambridge,and is now a professor at King’s College London.


Previously and Planning for Summer 2021: The Kierkegaard Library offers unpaid research fellowships to serious scholars for two to eight weeks in duration during the months of June and July. This Summer Fellows program entitles scholars to use the resources of the Kierkegaard Library while attending required activities: guest lectures, peer presentations, and participation in scholar seminars twice a week. Beyond extensive access to the Kierkegaard Library,  scholars have the opportunity to use the other libraries and facilities of St. Olaf College.”

Participants of the program include students at the graduate level and seasoned scholars.  Housing is provided on campus, all other expenses are the responsibility of the scholar. Advanced undergraduates are encouraged to apply to the Young Scholars Program.


Please send the following to Eileen Shimota by email or to the address below before March 30:

  1. Updated Curriculum Vitae or other description of your qualifications
  2. A description of your proposed research project and your reasons for wanting to use the collection
  3. Two (2) academic recommendations, preferably directly to
  4. Your preferred dates in residence

              Eileen Shimota, Assistant Curator
              Hong Kierkegaard Library
              St. Olaf College
              1520 St. Olaf Avenue
              Northfield, MN 55057

2019 Summer Fellow scholars
  • Andres Albertsen, Argentina
  • Tatiana Badurova, Czech Republic
  • Amber Bowen, USA
  • Patrick Brown, United Kingdom
  • Janaki Challa, USA
  • Dante Clementi, USA
  • Seth Daves, USA
  • Claudine Davidshoefer, USA
  • Patrick Derdall, USA
  • Thomas Gilbert, USA
  • David Heckerl, Canada
  • Eric Illiff, USA
  • Susanne Jakobsen Ilskov, Denmark
  • Jesus Luzardo, USA
  • Jakub Marek, Czech Republic
  • Orjiako Aloysius Oluchukwu, Nigeria
  • Janaki Potocek, Czech Republic
  • Alexander Quanbeck, USA
  • Barney Riggs, United Kingdom
  • Valerie Roberge, Canada
  • Linden Smith, USA
  • Clay Snell, USA
  • Megan Welle, Poland
  • Troy Wellington, USA