Young Scholars Program


This program is designed for college juniors or seniors or recently graduated college students who are serious about study and preparation for graduate school in a related field. Participants will meet daily as a group with Professor Gordon Marino for close readings and discussion of the text, “Sickness Unto Death” and Kierkegaard’s Journals. Participation in the summer fellows seminars: two one-hour presentations per week is also required. In addition, students will have the library’s resources for their independent research projects.

The dates for the 2020 Young Scholars Program are July 8 to July 31. The deadline to apply is April 30, 2020.

“Between the library materials and the conversations started in the group seminars, the Kierkegaard Library inspires creativity in all young thinkers.”

Housing is provided on campus, all other expenses are the responsibility of the young scholar. Food options are available on campus along with kitchens in the dorm. A handbook with specific information on this and more is provided upon acceptance.


For full consideration, send electronic copies of the following to Eileen Shimota as soon as your area of interest is established (before the above deadline) for the following summer. Sometimes later applications can be accepted for this program depending on interest.

  1. A resume
  2. A research proposal, 1-2 pages in length focusing on area of interest in your research
  3. Two letters of recommendation, preferably directly to
2019 Young Scholars
  • Kayla Aceves, USA
  • Edgar Jose Beltran Bermudez, Venezuela
  • Yuqi Bian, USA
  • Alex Dennis, USA
  • Omara Esteghlal, Indonesia
  • Richard Jensen, USA
  • Hayli Marquette, USA
  • Summer Mengarelli, USA
  • Eli Simmons, USA
  • Jason Stephens, USA
  • Malwina Tkacz, Poland
  • Hermon Werede, Eritrea/Sudan