St. Olaf College | News

Men’s cross country named Division III Scholar Team of the Year

Members of the St. Olaf men’s cross country team celebrate after winning the national championship this fall.

The St. Olaf College men’s cross country team and the Johns Hopkins University women’s cross country team have been named the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Division III Scholar Teams of the Year.

The St. Olaf men’s cross country team won the NCAA Division III Championship this fall, led by third-place finisher Grant Wintheiser ’15 and eighth-place finisher Jake Brown ’15.

St. Olaf and Johns Hopkins earned the Scholar Teams of the Year honor as the highest-finishing teams at NCAAs to have earned All-Academic Team honors by compiling a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.1.

St. Olaf earned a cumulative 3.26 grade point average on its way to the school’s first-ever NCAA team title. The team’s roster featured five individuals who earned All-Academic individual honors.

The Scholar Teams of the Year were among 215 women’s teams and 146 men’s teams that earned All-Academic Team honors for the 2013 season.