St. Olaf College | News

Presidential Transition Team appointed

A team composed of St. Olaf Board of Regents members, administrators, faculty members and a student observer has begun meeting to prepare for the college’s upcoming presidential transition.

The Presidential Transition Team will also assist with plans to honor outgoing President David R. Anderson ’74, who announced in May 2021 that he would step down at the end of the 2022-23 academic year. The Presidential Search Committee expects to present its recommendation for St. Olaf’s next president to the Board of Regents in the fall.

The announcement about the Transition Team was made by Presidential Search Committee Chair Stephanie Fehr ’87, whose full message to the community is below.

Dear St. Olaf Community,

On behalf of the Presidential Search Committee, I want to extend my thanks to everyone who has participated in St. Olaf’s Presidential Search process so far and provide an update as the academic year comes to a close.

Our search firm, Storbeck Search, said that the engagement they have seen from our community is among the highest they’ve experienced at any campus. Way to go, Oles! All of the input you have provided will inform our selection of St. Olaf’s next president.

At the recommendation of our search firm, Board of Regents Chair Jay Lund ’81 has appointed a Presidential Transition Team to honor President Anderson’s legacy as his 17-year tenure with the college comes to a close, prepare the campus for the next president’s arrival, and assist with the new president’s transition during their first several months on campus. The transition team includes:

  • Jennifer Hellman ’98, P’25 Regent, Transition Team lead

  • Stephanie Fehr ’87, P’21, Regent, Presidential Search Committee Chair

  • Susan Gunderson ’79, P’15, Regent, Board of Regents Vice Chair

  • Enoch Blazis, Vice President for Advancement

  • Michael Kyle ’85, Vice President for Enrollment and College Relations

  • María Pabón Gautier, Vice President for Equity and Inclusion

  • Louis Epstein, Associate Professor of Music, Board of Regents Faculty Representative

  • Anthony Bateza, Associate Professor of Religion

  • Fenton Krupp ’24, Board of Regents Student Observer

We look forward to lots of future engagement with the St. Olaf Community during this exciting time for our college. Over the summer months, the search committee will be busy reviewing candidates’ materials, conducting initial interviews, and speaking with colleagues with whom leading candidates have worked closely. Our search timeline remains on track, and we are feeling the positive momentum. We’ll provide an update when you’re back on the Hill this fall. Enjoy these summer months!


Stephanie Fehr ’87, P’21, Chair

St. Olaf College Presidential Search Committee