Fair Labor Standards Act

[Faculty Handbook Category #1]

All employees are subject to the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act.  This Act is primarily concerned with the payment of minimum wages and premium pay for overtime.  The Fair Labor Standards Act establishes two categories of employees for pay and overtime purposes: exempt and nonexempt employees.

Exempt Employees

The Fair Labor Standards Act classifies executive, administrative, and professional employees as exempt.  Employers are not required to keep hourly records of exempt employees, and exempt employees do not receive overtime compensation.  Exempt employees are salaried and paid on a monthly basis.  Exempt employees at St. Olaf are members of the administrative and professional staff and faculty.

Non-Exempt Employees

All other employees are nonexempt employees.  Under the Act, employers must keep hourly work records of nonexempt employees and compensate them for overtime (hours worked over 40 hours per week).  College employees who are required to work overtime are compensated with pay at time-and-a-half for overtime hours worked or may be granted compensatory time off for overtime hours worked, to be taken in the same pay period.  All service and support staff members are nonexempt employees.