Distinguished Professorships and Endowed Chairs


Steven Amundson
Robert Scholz Endowed Chair in Music
Professor of Music, 1981-
B.A., Luther College
M.M., Northwestern University




Anton Armstrong ’78
Harry R. and Thora H. Tosdal Professor of Music
Professor of Music, 1990-
M.M., University of Illinois
D.M.A., Michigan State University



Anthony Becker
Husby-Johnson Endowed Chair of Business and Economics
Professor of Economics, 1987
B.A., University of Maryland
M.A., Ph.D., Duke University




Doug Beussman ’92

Grace A. Whittier Endowed Chair in Science
Professor of Chemistry, 2003-
B.A., St. Olaf College
Ph.D., Michigan State University



Anne Groton
Marie M. Meyer Distinguished Professor
Professor of Classics, 1981-
A.B., Wellesley College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Michigan




Daniel Hofrenning
Martin E. Marty Chair in Religion and the Academy
Professor of Political Science, 1990-
B.A., Concordia College-Moorhead
M.Div., Luther Seminary
M.A.., Duke University


L DeAne Lagerquist
Harold Ditmanson Distinguished Professor of Religion

B.A., California Lutheran College
M.A., Luther Theological Seminary
Ph.D., University of Chicago Divinity School




Margaret O’Leary 
King Olav V Chair in Scandinavian-American Studies
Professor of Norwegian, 1977-
B.A. Concordia College-Moorhead
M.A, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison



Steve Reece
O.C. and Patricia Boldt Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Humanities
Professor of Classics, 1994-
B.A., M.A., University of Hawaii
Ph.D., University of California – Los Angeles


Barbara Reed

Barbara Reed
Oscar and Gertrude Boe Overby Distinguished Professor
Professor of Religion and Asian Studies, 1982-
B.A., Southern Methodist University
Ph.D., University of Iowa



Corliss G. Swain
Kenneth Bjork Distinguished Professor
Professor of Philosophy, 1987-
B.A., University of North Dakota
M.A., Ph.D., Loyola University of Chicago




umbanhowar2010Charles Umbanhowar, Jr.
Paul and Mildred Hardy Distinguished Professor of Science
Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies, 1991-
B.A., Carleton College
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin – Madison



Mary Walczak
Edolph A. Larson and Truman E. Anderson, Sr. Chair of Chemistry
Professor of Chemistry, 1992-
B.A., College of St. Thomas
Ph.D., Iowa State University




Karen Peterson Wilson
Patrick J. Quade Endowed Chair in Theater
Professor of Theater, 1979-80, 1981-
B.A., St. Olaf College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Minnesota