Husby-Johnson Endowed Chair of Business and Economics

Established in 1983 by Oscar and Pearl Husby and Joseph and Mary Husby to honor Senior Vice President David E. Johnson ’38, the purpose of this Chair is to enhance the general reputation of St. Olaf by bringing to St. Olaf a person of recognized competence in the field of business or economics. Oscar Husby served on the St. Olaf Board of Regents from 1966 to 1980, and as chairman of the Board from 1976 to 1980. The first holder of the Husby-Johnson chair was Leon Hollerman, a specialist in Asian economies; subsequent holders have been professors of economics, Bruce R. Dalgaard, Kathy Chadwick, Paul Wojick, David Emery and Anthony Becker.

Current Chair:

Rebecca Judge is Professor of Economics at St. Olaf. She joined the faculty in 1987 and promptly took part in the creation of the environmental studies program. At St. Olaf, Judge has served as Chair of Economics, Chair of Environmental Studies, and is currently Associate Dean of Social Sciences.

Her areas of research are environmental economics, environmental justice, international agricultural economics, and history of thought. Judge has published numerous articles and presented papers on environmental economics at national and regional professional meetings.

Judge’s professional experience includes serving terms as both Vice President and President of the Minnesota Economics Association. With the U.S. Forest Service, Judge helped to develop a habitat preservation plan for an endangered species. As part of a group of experts convened by the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America (ELCA), Judge served as co-author of the ELCA’s social statement on economic life, “Sufficient, Sustainable Livelihood for All.” She has served on boards for both the ELCA’s Division of Church in Society and the Jobs Now Coalition, and as a member of the ELCA’s task force on corporate social responsibility. Judge earned in PhD in Economics at Duke University.