GHS Overview & Links

The OSHA Hazard Communication Standard (HCS) is aligned with the Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labeling of Chemicals (GHS).

  • Hazard Classes. Hazardous substances are assigned to one (or more) of nine health hazard classes and 16 physical hazard classes.
  • Hazard Categories.  Each Hazard Class is subdivided into Hazard Categories.
    • These Categories are ranked based on hazard severity, with Category 1 as the most severe.
    • Each Hazard Category has an associated Signal Word, Pictogram, Hazard Statement, and Precautionary Statement(s).

Comparison of NFPA 704 and HazCom 2012 Labels
IMPORTANT: The GHS and NFPA numbering systems are opposite.

GHS Health Hazards Table Image

GHS Physical Hazards Table Image