Guest Artists

Academic Year 2015-2016

Photo: Gene Pittman for Walker Art Center

HIJACK is the choreographic collaboration of Kristin Van Loon & Arwen Wilder. Van Loon & Wilder grew up in Chicago, met at Colorado College, and established their collaboration in Minneapolis in 1993. HIJACK’s roots in a liberal arts setting isolated in the mountains laid the foundation for experimentation, invention without precedent, and making dance out of everything but dance.

“Our dances embrace juxtaposition. Believing work left in dialogue form opens itself to dialogue with the audience, we present two individuals’ point-of- view, yet unreconciled. We ask “how can two different or contradictory elements (people/values) exist together?” with our idealistic belief that they can. In this way we avoid didactic treatment of sociopolitical issues striving, instead, for subtlety and wit when addressing serious subjects. “

HIJACK is best known for “short-shorts”: pop song-length miniatures designed to deliver a sharp shock and collaborations with po-mo hero Scott Heron. HIJACK actively questions where and for whom dance is performed by choosing unconventional venues and projects. Specializing in the inappropriate, they toy with audiences’ expectations through their interpretation of venue. They perform each HIJACK dance in both social and theatrical spaces. Pieces bear the imprints of the places they’ve been.

HIJACK has taught and performed in New York (at DTW, PS122, HERE ArtCenter, Catch/Movement Research Festival, La Mama, Dixon Place, Chocolate Factory), Japan, Russia, Central America, Ottawa, Chicago, Colorado, New Orleans, Philadelphia, Seattle, San Francisco, at Fuse Box Festival in Austin Texas, and Bates Dance Festival in Maine. In spring, 2014, Contact Quarterly published the chapbook “Passing For Dance —a HIJACK reader”.

To mark HIJACK’s 20th anniversary as a collaboration, Walker Art Center commissionedredundant, ready, reading, radish, Red Eye. Development of the kaleidoscopic nonet began at MANCC in 2011. It premiered with full theatrical fabulousness at Walker Art Center in December 2013. This season, HIJACK is pulverizing the work into a trio for small/awkward spaces, calling it Tchotchke, and touring it to Legion Arts (Iowa) and Colorado College. In 2014-5, HIJACK pulverized “…radish…” into a trio for small and awkward spaces: “China Mall 65” for escalators in Minneapolis’ City Center, “Tchotchke” for Legion Arts in Iowa and the TEMP museum in Minneapolis, and “Soggy Oil Wife” for a grand stairway in Colorado Springs.  


Past Guest Artists


Karla Grotting
Theatre Engine
Stephan Koplowitz


Alexandra Beller/Dances


Stuart Pimsler Dance and Theater


Urban Bush Women


Shapiro and Smith


Mathew Janczewski
Uri Sands


Eddie Oroyan
Peggy Paver
Robin Stiehm


Brad Garner
Keith Johnson
Brent Schneider


Christian Adeti
Lorry May (Anna Sokolow)
Ellen Keane


Lingo Dance Theater
Mathew Janczewski


KT Niehoff
Walter Kennedy


Jan Erkert
Joe Chvala


Joe Chvala
Barbara Thatcher


David Dorfman
Gail Corbin
Cathy Young
Chris Aiken
Wynn Fricke


Jan Erkert & Dancers


David Dorfman
Seán Curran


Art Bridgman/Myrna Packer
Bridgman/Myrna Packer


Repertory Dance Theatre
Keith Johnson