Board of Regents

The St. Olaf Board of Regents manages and directs the business and affairs of the college. Among its many responsibilities, the board ultimately oversees the academic integrity of the college by appointing the president, awarding tenure to the faculty upon the president’s nomination, and adopting policies that establish the rights and obligations of faculty members.


Chair, B. Kristine Olson Johnson ’73, 2001–
Affinity Capital Management
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Vice Chair, Larry Stranghoener ’76, 2005–
Retired Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer 
Mosaic Company
Plymouth, Minnesota

Secretary, David R. Anderson ’74
St. Olaf College

Treasurer, Janet Hanson
Vice President, Chief Financial Officer
St. Olaf College

Senior Regents

Dean L. Buntrock ’55
Elected to the Board, 1972
Chairman of the Board, 1986-95
Senior Regent, 1995-

Martin E. Marty
Elected to the Board, 1988
Chairman of the Board, 1994-2001
Senior Regent, 2002-

Addison “Tad” Piper
Elected to the Board, 1999
Chairman of the Board, 2010-2013
Senior Regent, 2015-

O. Jay Tomson ’58
Elected to the Board, 1995
Chairman of the Board, 2006-10
Senior Regent, 2010-

Jerrol M. Tostrud ’60
Elected to the Board, 1996
Chairman of the Board, 2001-06
Senior Regent, 2011-


David R. Anderson ’74
St. Olaf College
Northfield, Minnesota

Rev. Elizabeth Eaton 
Presiding Bishop
Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA)
Chicago, Illinois

Term Expires in 2016

Leon G. Clark Jr. ’12, 2013–
Medical Student
Mayo Medical School
Rochester, Minnesota

John B. Grotting ’71, 2010–
Operating Partner
Frazier Healthcare Ventures
Rancho Santa Fe, California

Jody Kleppe Horner ’84, 2010–
Midland University
Fremont, Nebraska

Jon W. Salveson ’87, 2010–
Vice Chairman of Investment Banking
Piper Jaffray, Inc.
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Alphonso Tindall ’76, 2010–
Schiff Hardin LLP
New York, New York

Term Expires in 2017

Nancy J. Anderson ’74, 2003–
Retired Vice President, Deputy General Counsel
Microsoft Corporation
Redmond, Washington

Gregory L. Buck ’77, 2011–
Productivity, Inc.
Plymouth, Minnesota

Samuel M. Dotzler ’00, 2014–
Dotzler Law, LLC
Chicago, Illinois

Rev. William O. Gafkjen ’79, 2011–
Indiana-Kentucky Synod
Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA)
Indianapolis, Indiana

Ronald E. Hunter ’70, 2003–
Retired Assistant Vice President, Chief Trademark Counsel
Cargill, Inc.
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Term Expires in 2018

Jay Lund ’81, 2012–
President and CEO
Andersen Corporation
Oak Park Heights, Minnesota

Timothy Maudlin ’73, 2012–
Retired Venture Capitalist
Eden Prairie, Minnesota

Gretchen Morgenson ’76, 2012–
Assistant Business and Financial Editor
The New York Times
New York, New York

Term Expires in 2019

Kevin P. Bethke ’78, 2006–
Assistant Professor of Clinical Surgery
Division of Surgical Oncology, Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University
Chicago, Illinois

Kari Bjorhus ’80, 2013–
Vice President, Global Communications
Ecolab, Inc.
St. Paul, Minnesota

Eric Hanson ’76, 2007–
Senior Managing Director
Macquarie Group
New York, New York

Philip Milne ’81, 2007–
Rapid Packaging
Champlin, Minnesota

Theresa Hull Wise ’89, 2013–
Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer (retired)
Delta Airlines
Bloomington, Minnesota

Term Expires in 2020

David Hill ’64, 2008–
Chairman of the Board
Freedom Financial Bank
West Des Moines, Iowa

Ward Klein ’77, 2014–
Executive Chairman
Edgewell Personal Care
Chesterfield, Missouri

Glenn Taylor ’73, 2008–
Retired President
MEDCO Health Solutions, Inc.
Libertyville, Illinois

Term Expires in 2021

Peter Gotsch ’86, 2009–
Managing Director
Svoboda Capital Partners
Chicago, Illinois

Susan Gunderson ’79, 2015–
Chief Executive Officer
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Mark Jordahl, 2015–
President of Wealth Management
US Bank Wealth Management Group
Minneapolis, Minnesota