Faculty

jacksonPaul Jackson (Department Chair)
Chemistry
Environmental chemistry, separation science, green chemistry, surface water quality
jackson@stolaf.edu

 

allisterMark Allister
English
American literature, writing
allister@stolaf.edu

 

angellDiane Angell
Biology
Ecology
angell@stolaf.edu

 

BinderSeth Binder
Economics & Environmental Studies
Economics of sustainable development; valuation and management of biodiversity and ecosystem services
binder@stolaf.edu

 

hofrenningDaniel Hofrenning
Political Science
Public policy, American politics
dhofrenn@stolaf.edu

 

jacobelRobert Jacobel
Physics
Geophysics, ice and climate interactions
jacobel@stolaf.edu

 

judgeRebecca Judge
Economics
Environment and public policy
judge@stolaf.edu

 

lottTony Lott
Political Science
Globalization, enviornmental politics
lotta@stolaf.edu

 

mcmillanDonna McMillan
Psychology
Psychological significance of the natural world and psychological well-being
mcmillan@stolaf.edu

 

rohnMatt Rohn
Art/Art History
Landscape Art in the 20th Century, environmental values & advocacy
rohn@stolaf.edu

 

schadeJohn Schade
Biology & Environmental Studies
Ecology, Nutrient cycling
schade@stolaf.edu

 

sheaKathleen Shea
Biology, Curator of Natural Lands
Ecology
sheak@stolaf.edu

 

swiftMike Swift
Biology
Ecology, limnology, aquatic toxicology
swift@stolaf.edu

 

umbanhowarCharles Umbanhowar, Jr.
Biology
Paleoecology
ceumb@stolaf.edu

 

macphersonKris MacPherson
Reference Librarian
Asian Studies, agriculture in Asia, environmental education
macphers@stolaf.edu

 

farrellIn Memorium: James J. Farrell
History
American Studies, environmental history
The Nature of College, the book and blog.