Working Group on Equity and Inclusion

St. Olaf is committed to a welcoming and inclusive community for everyone on the Hill. On September 25, President Anderson announced the next step in the college’s continuing efforts to create and sustain that environment: the appointment of a Working Group on Equity and Inclusion.

Co-chaired by St. Olaf Regents Glenn Taylor ’73 and Phil Milne ’81, the Working Group includes St. Olaf students, faculty, staff, and alumni. Its charge is to:

Conduct a comprehensive review of the way persons from underrepresented groups experience life at St. Olaf with an eye to identifying the reasons why they experience it in this way.

Assess the overall climate of the College as it relates to the full participation and inclusion of underrepresented members of our community, ensuring that diverse backgrounds and perspectives are included, and voices of all are heard.

Identify barriers that exist to members of our community experiencing a consistent sense of belonging and to recommend ways to eliminate those barriers.

Consider best practices of other colleges and universities as they relate to access, equity, and inclusion.

Provide informed and specific recommendations to the President by May 1, 2018.

For more information about the Working Group’s members, see below.


Glenn Taylor ’73 is a St. Olaf Regent and co-chair of the Working Group. He is a retired health care executive who lives in Libertyville, Illinois.

Mary Barbosa-Jerez serves as the head of strategy for library collections and archives at St. Olaf.

Katherine Fick is the associate college pastor at St. Olaf, and she plays a central role in nurturing the college’s values and supporting the health and well-being of the community.

Donna Lee is Macalester College’s vice president for student affairs. She has presented numerous workshops on topics related to diversity, leadership, organizational development, and community engagement.

Mario Paez ’01 is a vice president in the Wells Fargo Insurance Services’ Professional Risk Group and lives in St. Paul. He is a member of the St. Olaf Alumni Board.

Mariem Zaghdoudi ’20 is a political science and biology major who was elected to serve as the Board of Regents Student Committee Coordinator. She is an international student from Tunisia.

Phil Milne ’81 is a St. Olaf Regent and co-chair of the Working Group. He is the owner of the Rapid Packaging company and lives in Wayzata, Minnesota.

Eddie Bryson ’20 is a student from Cordova, Tennessee, and a member of the St. Olaf football team.

Bruce King is the assistant to the president for institutional diversity and chief diversity officer at St. Olaf.

David Merchant ’77 is an attorney based in the Twin Cities who has dedicated much of his life to working on civil rights, racial equality, and justice for all.

Anantanand Rambachan is a professor of religion at St. Olaf and a renowned Hindu scholar who has been involved in the field of interreligious relations and dialogue for over 25 years.