Goldwater Scholars

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate.

The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue research careers in these fields. Click here for more information.

St. Olaf College Physics Department is proud to have had several students win this prestigious award.

St. Olaf College Physics Department Goldwater Scholarship Award Winners

Jakob Hofstad – 2020

Stefan Mellem – 2013

Ben Kiesling – 2012

Ben Simmons – 2011

Jeff Stamp – 2010

Allison Hagen – 2006

Joey Paulsen – 2006

Dan Visscher – 2005

Matt Nyflot – 2004

St. Olaf College Physics Department Goldwater Honorable Mention Award Winners

Benj Wollant – 2018

Kieran Berton – 2017

Lucas Sletten – 2014

Michelle Frank – 2012

Chris Bouxein – 2011