Rossing Scholars

Rossing Scholarships for Outstanding Students in Physics

Each year, the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) awards the Rossing Scholarships in Physics in recognition of excellence in physics scholarship amongst the undergraduates at the network of 26 ELCA Colleges and Universities. These competitive scholarships of up to $10,000 were established by a generous gift from Dr. Thomas D. Rossing. Dr. Rossing was a member of the St. Olaf Physics Department from 1957-1971 and is currently a faculty at Stanford University’s Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics.  The St. Olaf College Physics Department is proud to have had many of its students win this prestigious award.

St. Olaf College Physics Department Rossing Scholarship Award Winners

Siri Mellem- 2021

Aaron Swanson – 2020

Benj Wollant – 2019

Gabriel McAndrews – 2019

Colin Scheibner – 2017

Daniel Hickox-Young – 2016

Lucas Sletten – 2015

St. Olaf College Physics Department Rossing Honorable Mention Award Winners

Jiayi Wang – 2021

Kayla Gephart – 2020

Brian Nevins – 2019

Emma Dawson – 2018

Kieran Berton – 2018

Emily Witt – 2017

Jordan Dull – 2016

Owen Puls – 2016

Adam Wood – 2016