Millert Memorial Speaker Series

Olaf W. and Juta R. Millert Memorial Speaker Series in Psychology, begun in 2010, supports the annual lecture at St. Olaf College and was created by Professor Emeritus Olaf Millert in memory of his wife of 46 years, Juta. Born in Estonia, Professor Millert immigrated to the U.S. in 1949, received a bachelor’s degree from Augustana College, a master’s degree from the University of South Dakota, and a Ph.D. in psychology from Harvard University. Millert founded the St. Olaf Department of Psychology in 1952 where he taught personality and social psychology until his retirement in 1995. He was a Fulbright visiting professor at the University of Tampere, Finland, and a Danforth teacher and visiting scholar in psychology at Harvard. Over the years, Olaf and Juta supported St. Olaf in numerous ways. In addition to this lecture series, the Millerts founded the Gordon Allport Award, awarded annually to an outstanding junior psychology major, and the Olaf and Juta Millert Endowment provides scholarships to St. Olaf students from Baltic and Scandinavian countries.


Millert Memorial Speaker Poster: How Culture Influences Our Emotions2015-2016
Millert Memorial Speaker Poster: Science and Pseudoscience in Everyday Life

Millert Memorial Speaker Poster: Cognitive Neuroscience

Millert Memorial Speaker Poster: Who's in Charge? Free Will and the Limits of Determinism

2016-2017 Millert Memorial Speaker Poster: Ambivalent Stereotyping and Its Association with Status Inequality and Conflict

Millert Memorial Speaker Poster: The Psychology of Money

Millert Memorial Speaker Poster: What We've Learned from Other Cultures About Successful Child Development

Millert Memorial Speaker Poster: George W. Bush and the Redemptive Dream