Kierkegaard House Foundation Fellows

The Kierkegaard House Foundation is in the process of revising somewhat the deadlines and guidelines for fellowship applications.  We apologize that this year there was some conflicting statements about this on the website.  In an effort to be as fair as we can under the circumstances, we will have two rounds of consideration for the two fellowships for 2015-16.  The first round will choose a winner from the applications received by November 7, 2014.  Any applications not chosen in this round will be automatically considered (with an invitation for updating) in the second round, which will choose a winner from all applications received by February 1, 2015.  We again apologize for the confusion. 

Edward Langerak, President of the Kierkegaard House Foundation

The Kierkegaard House Foundation currently seeks to award two fellowships per year with residence periods that typically extend from September 1 through August 31; shorter periods will be considered.  The Fellowships involve stipends of $1500 per month and guest housing at the Kierkegaard House.  The Foundation seeks a balance between supporting established or postdoctoral scholars and supporting emerging scholars still working on their PhDs.  In addition to using the usual scholarly criteria for applicants, the Foundation hopes to support scholars who will interact as appropriate with St Olaf undergraduate students and with the wider college community.  A written report or summary at the conclusion of the fellowship period is required.
How to apply: 
For full consideration, by November 7 of the year before the beginning of the fellowship period, send to Gordon Marino <> electronic copies of the following:

  1. A 1-2 page cover letter with the proposed dates of residence and a brief personal narrative about the applicants background and how it fits into the fellowship opportunity.
  2. An updated curriculum vitae, including information about levels of linguistic competencies relevant to the research project.
  3. A 3-5 page description of the research project, including plans for the use of library resources and a timetable for the completion of the project.  Attach a bibliography.
  4. Two letters of recommendation, preferably directly from the recommenders.
  5. If available and appropriate, a brief list of relevant writings by the applicant, writings that are available either by clicking on links or by email attachments (if and when requested).

The awards ordinarily are announced by December 15.

2014-15 Kierkegaard House Foundation Fellows

Christina Danko  (9/1/14-2/28/15)  Claremont Graduate University (PhD Philosophy, 2015)
Andras Nagy (9/1/14 – 6/1/15) 
Budapest, Hungary; Associate Professor, Dept. of Theater Studies, University of Pannonia at Veszprem .
Ulrika Carlsson (3/1/15-8/31/15)
Yale University (PhD Philosophy, 2013);  Long Island University.
Kierkegaard House Foundation Fellowship Recipients 2004-2014

1. Patricia Dip  (5/24/04-9/20/04)           Argentina
2. John Lippitt (9/1/04-8/31/05)          UK
3. Oscar Parcero Oubinya (9/10/04 – 6/19/05)          Spain
4. Dolors Perarnau Vidal (9/10/04-6/19/05)          Spain
5. Leo Stan (6/1/05 – 6/30/06)          Romania, Canada
6. Almut Furchert (6/1/05 -5/15/06)          Germany
7. Toshi Hachiya (9/1/05 – 8/31/06)          Japan
8. Roy Sellars (9/1/05    -8/31/06)          UK
9. Narve Strand (5/15/06-12/20/06)          Norway
10. Maria Jose Binetti (5/21/06 –  11/15/06)          Argentina
11. Gabriel Merigala (6/24/06 – 5/31/07)          India
12. William McDonald (7/7/06 – 11/12/06)          Australia
13. John Poling (9/1/06 –  4/30/07)          USA
14. Myron Penner (1/1/07 – 5/31/07)          Canada, UK
15. Soren Landkildehus (1/7/07 –1/31/08)          Denmark, UK
16. Patrick Stokes (7/18/07 – 12/18/07)           Australia
17. Tamara Marks (9/1/07-7/31/08)          USA
18. Simon Podmore  (2/1/08 -1/15/09)          UK
19. Jamie Turnbull (1/1/09 – 12/31/09)          UK
20. Antony Aumann  (7/1/09 – 6/30/10)          USA
21. Richard Purkarthofer (1/11/10-12/31/10)          Austria, Germany, Denmark
22. John Varughese (5/1/10-4/30/11)           India
23. Wojtek Kaftanski (1/1/11 -6/30/11)          Poland
24. Peder Jothen (1/1/11-6/30/11)           USA
25. Adam Buben (7/1/11 – 7 /31/12)          USA
26. Michael Tilley (9/1/11/-8/1/12)          USA
27. Irina Kruchinina (7/1/12 – 2/28/13)          Russia
28. Carl Hughes (9/2/12-8/31/13)          USA
29. Deidre Green (3/1/13-8/31/13)          USA
30. Carson Seabourn Webb (9/1/13-8/31/13)          USA
31. Silvia Vignati (9/1/13 – 3/31/14)          Italy/Germany/Denmark
32. David Lappano (3/1/13-8/31/13)          Canada/UK

Prior to this period, 1998-2003,  The Kierkegaard House Foundation provided what were referred to by Howard Hong as “residencies for visiting scholars”.  This involved providing rooms at the Heath Creek apartments at the Hongs’ home as needed for scholars using the Kierkegaard Library.  In 1999, Howard Hong reported on 9 “residencies” for Kierkegaard scholars.  Some were very short-term;  some were longer stays. These stays did not involve formal fellowship stipends from the Foundation.