Title IX Working Group Members

President David Anderson has appointed 10 representatives to the Title IX Working Group. These individuals were selected because of their diverse backgrounds, experiences, and expertise.

Timothy Maudlin ’73, chair

Tim serves on the St. Olaf Board of Regents and chairs the college’s Audit Committee, which is responsible for oversight of the college’s process for monitoring compliance with laws, regulations, and codes of conduct. He also serves on the board of directors of Luther Seminary. He completed 12 years of service on the Augsburg Fortress Board of Trustees this past year. He currently serves on seven corporate boards — always as an independent director and as audit committee chair.

Kaelie Lund ’16

Kaelie is the co-chair of the St. Olaf Sexual Assault Resource Network (SARN), which takes a stand against sexual assault and relationship violence on the St. Olaf campus through supporting survivors and their friends, raising awareness in the college community, and promoting healthy relationships.

Emma Lind ’17

Emma is the Student Government Association president-elect and past co-chair of the St. Olaf It’s On Us campaign, a White House initiative to change the way people think about sexual assault. She is also the intercampus liaison between the St. Olaf and Carleton College student governments.

Ryan Bowles

Ryan is the athletic director at St. Olaf College. He is a member of the college’s Title IX team.

Matthew Marohl

Matt is the St. Olaf College campus pastor and plays a central role in nurturing the college’s values and supporting the health and well-being of the community.

Susan Smalling ’97

Susan is an assistant professor in St. Olaf’s Social Work and Family Studies Department. A former chemical dependency social worker, her research includes LGBT issues and cultural competence across all social work practice levels.

Erica Staab-Absher, CMT, BSW

Erica is executive director of the HOPE Center, which supports victims of sexual and domestic violence in Rice County. Drawing on a strong background in social work, she has more than a decade of experience advocating for victims and raising awareness of sexual violence.

Jill Fedje ’85

Jill is an assistant Ramsey County attorney with extensive experience charging and prosecuting more than 100 sexual assault cases. In addition, she has worked with various community groups, law enforcement, and other stakeholders to creatively and proactively promote community safety.

Carl Crosby Lehmann ’91

Carl is a co-founder of trainEd and was most recently an attorney at Gray Plant Mooty, where he worked extensively with colleges and universities across the country developing Title IX policies, training Title IX teams, educating students and employees, and overseeing investigations and adjudications of sexual violence complaints. Currently he is St. Olaf College’s attorney.

Karla Benson-Rutten

Karla is the Title IX coordinator and director of equity at Macalester College. She oversees and implements Macalester’s Title IX policies and initiatives.