Chapter Awards

At its spring banquet each year, the Delta of Minnesota recognizes the top students in the sophomore, junior, and senior classes. Seniors receive the Tosdal-Finholt Award, juniors the Bly Award. The chapter is indebted to the donors whose generosity made these annual awards possible.


Henry H. & Anna Tosdal Award (originally Tosdal Scholarship), now combined with the Albert & Marion Finholt Award

(for top students in the senior class)

Harry R. (St. Olaf ’09) and Thora (St. Olaf ’15) Tosdal (pictured below) created this scholarship in memory of Harry’s parents, Henry and Anna Tosdal. Harry was one of 14 distinguished St. Olaf alumni elected to membership in the Delta of Minnesota at its first-ever election, May, 1950. He taught at Harvard University in marketing and business administration.

null null

Albert and Marion Finholt Award (originally Finholt Scholarship), now combined with the Henry H. & Anna Tosdal Award

(for top students in the senior class)

Albert E. Finholt  (1918-2009) taught chemistry at Olaf College from 1949 to 1985 and was Dean of the College from 1964 to 1971. One of the eight charter members of the Delta of Minnesota, he served as its president for two years (1956-58). The scholarship that he and his wife Marion (1917-2009) funded was first awarded in 1956. 



John M. Bly Award (originally Bly Scholarship)

(for top students in the junior class)

John M. Bly was St. Olaf’s Assistant Registrar from 1927 to 1935, Registrar from 1935 to 1947, and Dean of Academic Administration from 1946 to 1947. He prepared the reports that led to the establishment of a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at St. Olaf in 1949. He died in February, 1947.