The St. Olaf College Theater Department approaches the study of theater as both an intellectual and creative endeavor. The curriculum provides students with the research, interpretive, and technical skills to make and study meaningful works of theater and to sustain them in their art and as critical thinkers throughout their lives.

In keeping with the larger mission of St. Olaf, theater faculty strive to teach students to make connections between cultures and across academic disciplines. We believe that theater is innately interdisciplinary whether it is having student musical directors or choreographers or a physics or religion professor advising on a production.

The Theater department offers students:

  • Outstanding facilities, including the 320-seat proscenium stage Kelsey Theater and the 110-seat flexible-space Haugen Theater
  • Five productions and a one-act play festival annually — in which any student (regardless of major) can be involved
  • Opportunities to learn while creating all facets of production: acting, directing, lighting, sound, costume, set design, and front of house
  • Faculty with decades of professional experience
  • Close proximity to Minneapolis St. Paul — one of the nation’s top theater centers
  • Off-campus opportunities such as the Theater in London class and internships at metro-area theaters and concert halls
  • The New Plays on Campus Program from the Playwrights’ Center in Minneapolis, which provides St. Olaf with works by new playwrights who come as artist-in-residence and work directly with students

St. Olaf theater majors pursue careers as actors, directors, designers and playwrights. Graduates also achieve success in other fields, including business, architecture, teaching, law, advertising, and the ministry — all the while celebrating life through their art, using it to build community, orchestrate change, and enhance our culture.

The St. Olaf Theater Department is a member of the National Association Schools of Theatre (NAST), the United States Institute for Technology (USITT), and the Communication and Theater Association of Minnesota (CTAM).