Groomis Awards for Summer Projects

2018 Groomis Awards

Winners of Groomis Awards were announced on Saturday, May 12, 2018, during the spring picnic of St. Olaf College’s chapter of Eta Sigma Phi, the national Classics honor society. Since 2006 these awards (typically $500 or $1000 each) have provided financial support for St. Olaf students who undertake worthy summer projects related to the study of Classics, Ancient Studies, or Medieval Studies.

This year’s winners are John J. Melling ’17 (Williston, ND), Hadley E. Evans Nash ’21 (Middlebury, VT), Clara A. Gambill ’20 (La Grande, OR), Gabrielle (Bria) M. Lattery ’20 (Oshkosh, WI), JuliAnne N. Rach ’20 (Orlando, FL), Leah H. Ramsey ’21 (Grinnell, IA), and Amanda R. Westcott ’19 (Tallahassee, FL). Melling will be participating in the summer archaeological excavation at Tel Megiddo in Israel. The other six students will be working as interns with St. Olaf History Professor Timothy Howe in the summer archaeological excavation at Antiochia ad Cragum in Turkey.

One other Groomis Award was already presented last fall: George P. Arbanas ’20 (St. Louis, MO), who spent six weeks participating in the archaeological excavation at Tel Kabri in Israel last summer, received funding to attend the annual conference of the American Schools of Oriental Research (ASOR) in Boston, November 15-18, 2017.

Normally the money for these awards comes the Groton and Loomis (= Groomis) Endowments. This year, however, we were fortunate enough to have special funds donated by two St. Olaf graduates: Dr. Pamela L. Severson Vaughn ’71 and Dr. Terry L. Papillon ’80. Dr. Vaughn received her Ph.D. in Classics from Berkeley and retired in 2014 after teaching at San Francisco State University for more than twenty years. Dr. Papillon earned a Ph.D. in Classics from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and taught for 22 years at Virginia Tech before moving to Sewanee, Tennessee, to become Dean of the College and Professor of Classics at the University of the South.

Many thanks to our generous alumni and congratulations to our eight winners!

List of Groomis Award Winners, 2006-2017

2006 Groomis Award Winners:

Michael W. Gulden ’08
Archaeological Field School, University of Utah

Emily C. Holm ’08
Intensive Latin Workshop, University of California-Berkeley

2007 Groomis Award Winners:

Holly M. Browskowski ’07
Internship at Minneapolis Institute of Arts

Kayla A. Rasmussen ’08
Intensive German Summer Language Program, Middlebury College

2008 Groomis Award Winner:

Adrienne C. Rowell ’10
Excavation of Saninsera, Roman town on the Cape of Cavelleria, Menorca, Spain

2009 Groomis Award Winner:

Elizabeth S. Creager ’12
Participation in the Annual Institute of the American Classical League

2010 Groomis Award Winners:

Katherine A. Crawford ’11
Villa delle Vignacce Summer Archaeology Field School in Rome

Justin L. Luthey ’11
Seminars at J. Paul Getty Villa in Malibu; visit to Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit at Azusa Pacific University

2011 Groomis Award Winners:

Katherine A. Crawford ’11
Excavation in Stobi, Macedonia, sponsored by the Balkan Heritage Field School

Kristofer D. Coffman’13
Textbooks for independent study of Biblical Hebrew

2012 Groomis Award Winners:

Emily Marie Sandquist  ’13
Books for independent study of Tractatus Super Psalmos by Hilary of Poitiers

Natasha E. Hellen ’13
Textbooks for independent study of forensic archaeology

Kristofer D. Coffman’13
Norwegian-Latin dictionary for independent research as Rand Scholar at the University of Oslo

2013 Groomis Award Winners:

Chance E. Bonar ’15
Presentation of paper on Alexander the Great at history conference in Athens, Greece

Morgan M. Wychor ’15
Archaeological field work at Anamur Museum and Antiochia ad Cragum in Turkey

2014 Groomis Award Winners:

Nicholas A. Gantt ’15
Archaeological field work at Antiochia ad Cragum in Turkey

Leif D. McLellan ’16
Archaeological field work at Antiochia ad Cragum in Turkey

2015 Groomis Award Winners:

Joseph A. C. Burkhart ’17
Archaeological field work at Antiochia ad Cragum in Turkey

Leif D. McLellan ’16
Archaeological field work on a Viking Age site in Gotland, Sweden
Click here to read about Leif’s experience.

Morgan M. Wychor ’15
Archaeological field work at Sarmizegetusa Ulpia Traiana in Transylvania, Romania

2016 Groomis Award Winners:

There were no applicants for Groomis Awards in 2016!

2017 Groomis Award Winner:

Mattias A. Kostov ’20
Online language study in ancient Greek