Loomis Scholarship in Classics

The Loomis Scholarship in Classics, a generous gift from Kenneth and Kathleen Loomis, parents of Stephen Loomis ’97, was first awarded in January, 2012. It is intended for a student with high financial need and a record of academic excellence, who could not otherwise afford the cost of a Classics interim abroad, either Classics 251 (Classical Studies in Greece) or Classics 253 (Classical Studies in Italy).

Preference is given to students who are pursuing a declared major in Classics, Greek, Latin, Ancient Studies, or Medieval Studies. The scholarship covers the full program fee but not the cost of textbooks, passport, or passport photos.

Students apply for the Loomis Scholarship in Classics as part of their online application for the Classics interim abroad. Applications for January, 2021 (Classical Studies in Greece) are now available. The deadline for submitting them is Monday, September 14, 2020.

Winners of Loomis Scholarship in Classics, 2012-2020

2012:  Brian D. Thoes ’14

2013:  Collin J. Moat ’13

2014:  Abby N. Frederickson ’14

2015:  John D. Stone ’17

2016:  Justine S. Bateman ’17

2017:  Brianna L. Wenande ’18

2018:  Herman Hannan ’18

2019:  Julia C. Walter ’21

2020: Sophie Zahran ’22